Haruka to Miyuki – LOVELESS/ARTLESS (album review)


Sorry for that hiatus. Just realized my last post was a year ago ^^;; For that, I apologize. I was really busy with thesis writing, submission, correction, the whole process was tedious and long I’m really glad that’s all over now. I was also involved in some jdrama subbing so even though I continued listening to jpop, I couldn’t find the time to blog here.

This new album by Japanese female rock-folk duo, Haruka to Miyuki prompted me to write something. I became a fan after being impressed by their debut album in late 2013, Cyanotype, which I reviewed here. I really dig their style, there’s something soulful in their mix of folk-rock indie sound and so I have been following them. After releasing a few mini albums and songs (released digitally) the last 3 years, they’re now back with their 2nd album.

605px-lovelessartlessregular

I feel every artist evolves some way or another as they discover new genres over the course of their career. Haruka to Miyuki is no different. They’ve been experimenting with electro-pop too, which I don’t see coming but it’s not bad. But overall, their past releases have been quite underwhelming with only a few highlights. So after going through 2 years of countless live performances, writing and evolving, how does the 2nd major follow-up fare?

  1. Hikare
    It’s a good opening track to kick this album off. It’s got very bright and positive sound overall. The chorus doesn’t disappoint, it just keeps you going. On my first listen, I’m not that enthralled but it’s a fast grower. Thing is, Haruka to Miyuki is known to make depressing music, so hearing them make something as ‘cheerful’ as this, is a rare moment and I’ll just have to be happy with it. I like that piano keys in the beginning of this. So lifting.
    Rating: 4/5 
  2. DRAG & HUG
    This reminds me instantly of songs like Mosaic and Newton no Ringo. Fast-paced pop/rock. Nice to know they haven’t lost their touch. It’s not as edgy and dark as Mosaic but an okay track overall. I do like when all the instruments just go fast and crazy. Adrenaline rush!
    Rating: 3.5/5
  1. Kiseki wo Inoru Koto wa Mou Shinai (No Longer Praying for Miracles)
    The first promotional track for this album. When I first heard this song, I was really happy. It’s like I found my sunny spot again in the duo and such a good comeback from previous mediocre releases. Upon hearing this, I pre-ordered the album right away and could just cross my fingers this album’s not gonna disappoint. The title and lyrics touch me in ways I can’t really describe, it’s like when you reach a moment of enlightenment or awakening that you’re just so sure of yourself or what you want, that you’re no longer praying for miracles. That stoic confidence. In some ways, I feel like Haruka’s lyrics are recapping their journey from when they first started and this is where they stand now. Musically, it just inspires me especially when that chorus comes in. Like seeing light at the end of the dark cave or something lol.
    Rating: 4/5
  1. Pain
    Instant favorite! I feel like they’re returning to their roots of this type of rock ballad. Reminiscent of why I love Cyanotype so much. The intro with the drum beats is a nice touch, kinda deceiving in a way, which is basically their way of making music (if you’ve read their previous interviews, they like to add odd notes/keys in their music). Love the guitar riff. Too bad it feels a bit short without a proper peak (though that bridge is good) I still wish they added another verse or something. It just leaves me wanting for more.
    Rating: 4.5/5
  2. Are you ready?
    Now this is where it gets kinda weird. This track clocks only 1:26 min and I thought it serves as an interlude/instrumental or something you always find in Ayumi Hamasaki’s album, I was wrong. It’s actually the intro for the next track. The odd thing is, both of these tracks may as well be one full track but they divided them into two separate songs. While it’s kinda creative to do this, I just think it’s such a waste. The reason is because the album only has 10 tracks, including this short intro and they could’ve added another full proper song. Anyways, that aside, this song continuous seamlessly with the next track and you wouldn’t even realize it’s already the next track. Which is exactly why I think it serves no purpose to separate them.
    Rating: 3/5 
  3. Miru Mae ni Odore (Dance Before Looking)
    Guess the title is self-explanatory. This is a shift from their roots. It’s an electro-pop and while it’s rare for them to venture into this realm, judging from their experiments in the past 2 years, think Usotsuki, I know quite a number of people actually like that song. This sounds a tad generic though and doesn’t have that uniqueness in Usotsuki. The beats are addictive though.
    Rating: 3/5 
  4. Tokyo Utopia
    Haruka tries out her ‘rapping’ ability lol. Well, it’s not exactly rap, just sounds like it during the verses. I like the intro (friggin addictive) keyboard I believe. It’s got this oriental notes with electro-pop (again) as the background. A pretty light song and a good follow-up from the previous track since they share similar genre. Very catchy.
    Rating: 3.5/5 
  5. Eien no Temae (Eternal You)
    Another rock ballad and immediately again, I’m in love. I can’t deny it. I just love almost every rock ballad Haruka to Miyuki churn out because they always manage to hit the right spots in me. I haven’t mentioned much about Haruka’s vocals but I just wanna say, I really like how she sings this. I feel her pain, even more so than in Pain lol. She always sounds sincere in the songs, you know like those raw emotion from her vocals.
    Rating: 4/5
  1. you
    We slow down a bit with an acoustic track. It does pick up after the second chorus. I’m not really into their acoustics to be honest, they’ve mostly been a hit or miss for me. This is borderlining between that. It’s mediocre, though the lyrics may be meaningful, the melody doesn’t do it for me. So this is easily the least favorite track in this album. It also ends kinda abruptly but knowing them, they’ve always liked to add unconventional styles in their music.
    Rating: 2.5/5
  1. Yoake no Tsuki (The Moon at Dawn)
    They close the album with another rock ballad. What surprises me is how they manage to deceive me again. When they start the track with only piano, I thought this is gonna be a slow piano-driven closing track…until that explosive chorus kicks in. Again, what can I say? Their rock ballads are always good! That chorus really brings this track to higher notch.
    Rating: 4.5/5

20160811-src_2016_8_11-4

OVERALL IMPRESSION

So happy my money hasn’t gone down to the waste bin lmao. I mean, to make that judgment from the first promotional track alone is such an irrational move I really think I’d regret it if the album sucks. Thankfully, it doesn’t! That being said, I’m satisfied with what they offer this time. They obviously saved the best for this album. Their previous releases (both digital and physical) aren’t bad but I think they’re mostly experimenting with different genre and see what comes out of it, like, how would fans react and so forth and probably go from there to produce this final product.

This is overall a satisfying comeback. Cyanotype, their debut, is still superior, even in terms of musical production and direction, so many catchy and surprising tracks in there. But I don’t see LOVELESS/ARTLESS as a step down. Rather, I sense how they’ve evolved musically. While Cyanotype is darker, edgier and leaves heavier impression, LOVELESS/ARTLESS is the happier version of it. It’s got more bright/cheerful songs, hopeful and inspiring, rather than moody tracks, venting anger on the world or themselves. I guess…they’ve come to love themselves a bit more. Though it’s apparent they’ve evolved, one thing I’m really glad is that they still go back to their roots with the rock ballads. Remember Vanilla? That song will always be my favorite song from them and nothing so far has snatched it from its crown. I’m hopeful with these few rock ballads, they’re up there. This means, they’re still making this type of music.

The overall flow is okay, nothing really out of place. I’m just bummed that the album is kinda short with only 10 tracks. Actually only 9 proper tracks because Are you ready? is basically just the intro for Miru Mae ni Odore. I still find it odd that they decided to separate them into two tracks. I’m also sure they have more demos or tracks that they can add another one or two to make it into a 11/12-track album.

Haruka_to_Miyuki_LIFE_TOUR_2016_01

Now I’ve had my share of disappointments with female bands lately for example SCANDAL and Kinoko Teikoku. Both of them have evolved over the years, SCANDAL, I’d say shifts so much from their roots you would probably not really recognize them if you listen to their old albums. When they start writing their own music, that’s probably when they really experiment new stuffs. I’m really happy for that, the writing/composing part because I’m a firm believer of artists who write or compose their music. Like I just tend to have more respect towards them. However, SCANDAL’s previous albums haven’t been very impressive and I’m kinda disappointed. Kinoko Teikoku has also changed their direction (a bit) and that shoegaze is almost gone in their most recent album. For that, I know a lot of fans are disappointed. Me included but it’s not so bad for me because I still like some of their songs. But overall, they give me the sense like they’ve lost their edge. Ever since going major, their sound becomes more generic, mainstream and mostly just softer than what they produce during their indie times. That’s probably the cost of going major. What makes Haruka to Miyuki slightly better for me, even though they’ve all gone through this process, is that Haruka to Miyuki always somehow goes back to their roots even though they release some very unlikely type of music during the last 2 years. It’s shown in this album with tracks like Kiseki wo Inoru Koto wa Mou Shinai, Pain, DRAG & HUG and Yoake no Tsuki. Their rock ballads have not disappointed me yet.

This band is so underrated I keep thinking they deserve more exposure. Their record company, Sony is being an ***hole for blocking their music videos and such. You can always unblock by using some app but it’s still such a hassle. Either way, I’m glad they haven’t got in the way of their creative process but these gurls need more exposure! They’ve been doing tons of live houses, they seem to be constantly traveling all around Japan (judging from their Twitter), even a free live performance a while ago but yeah, not enough.

You can purchase the album here:
CDJapan
Yesasia
iTunes

CqCe9slW8AM5SB_

Leave a comment